JLS (jlsjlsjls) wrote,


Got my copy of volume 14 in the Garrett, P.I. series today!!! Now I've just got to figure out when I can spend some time devouring it.

For those who've not delved into this series, which combines excellent noirish mystery and snark in one of the most believeable fantasy settings I've ever come across, the titles are:

1. Sweet silver blues
2. Bitter gold hearts
3. Cold copper tears
4. Old tin sorrows
5. Dread brass shadows
6. Red iron nights
7. Deadly quicksilver lies
8. Petty pewter gods
9. Faded steel heat
10. Angry lead skies
11. Whispering nickel idols
12. Cruel zinc melodies
13. Gilded latten bones
14. Wicked bronze ambition (the new one)

This series should definitely should be read in order, otherwise the war, post-war, economic, and political stuff going on in the background may not make sense. Not to mention that it makes it easier to keep track of Garrett's love life. ;p

The older titles are currently in print in handy omnibus form (three titles per volume):

1-3: Introducing Garrett P.I.
4-6: Garrett takes the case
7-9: Garrett for hire
Tags: bookseries: garrett, reading

  • Fibre things

    Still here, work still closed to the public and on 4-day weeks, though for May we've switched to closed on Mondays instead of on Fridays. I'm still…

  • Life in the great indoors

    Work has gone to a four-day work week for April (closed on Fridays) and May (closed on Mondays) and we're all encouraged to work at home whenever…

  • From the Cataloguer's Desktop

    The book notes have been piling up so I finally got 'round to posting a new title list over at catdesk … enjoy!!! This entry was…

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.